Does the Fender American PJ Bass has the Sound of the Fender P Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Aya, Jun 5, 2017.

1. Aya

Aya Guest

Jun 5, 2017
    Hello, Everyone.

I'm a newbie here. and I also will be a newbie bass player soon.

I play guitars and make songs with MIDI instruments. Recently, I decided to buy a bass and to use it for recording instead of VSTI although I haven't played a bass yet. :roflmao:

I have heard some Fender bass guitars. and I found I like the P bass sound over J bass although the slim neck of J bass seems to fit well to my relatively small hands.

So I was about to buy a 2017 Fender American Professional Precision Bass(I heard it was the successor to the American Standard which is produced untill 2016. Right?).

Then suddenly, I found a strange item on the internet. Please refer to the link below.

2016 Limited Edition American Standard "PJ" Bass | Precision Bass® Bass Guitars | Fender® Bass Guitars

That bass has an unusual spec. P bass body + J bass neck + P bass pickup + J bass bridge pickup... it is not MIM or MIJ. and all pickups are passive.

That PJ has P pickup and slim J neck too. It seems perfect! drool But I'm not sure that PJ bass has the same sound of normal P bass.

Does the PJ have original P sound(and additional J bridge sound)? Or does the PJ have completely different sounds than P sound(or J bridge sound)?

If the PJ has unique sounds of its own rather than the P sound. then I would buy a normal P bass. If the PJ has the same sound of normal P bass, I would go for it.

Is anyone who heard the both PJ and P? or Any information related to this are welcome.

Thanks in advance!!! :)

2. ThumpBump

ThumpBump

May 2, 2017