finally resurrected my prog rig

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by john turner, Apr 20, 2009.

1. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    well, up until recently my band hasn't really required all the bells and whistles of my main rig, so it sat mostly disassembled. but the past few months have seen a resuscitation of my _other_ (prog) band lord only, and so i've pulled out all the gear and wired up the rig o'doom.

experimenting with a few new things in this too, stuff i've never used before, so this should be fun.

but first, some pics.

full%20rig.jpg

the stack of speakers on the left are my bass speakers (hartke 4x12 and yamaha 1x18) and the Ev VMR (15" and a 10") is used for the synth stuff.

racks.jpg

from the top, a pair of aphex units, wired together, that give me 4 channels of compression and gating. not sure if these are going to stay - used to use them in the studio for recording drums and such. i'll see how they work here on the various distortions i'll be using.

next, we have the axon ax100sb, with installed soundboard. the sounds on this thing are really nice, and it tracks pretty well even on the low b on my rmc-equipped basses.

the jv1010 below is hooked in via midi directly to the axon. really great sounds in this unit, have used it a lot in some of the longer tunes on our finished but as-yet unreleased 2nd cd.

in the past i've mainly used the boss se70 for the built in vocoder, but i'm going to start using it for more effects i think - it's decent, although probably not the most pristine signal path.

ada mp1 - sorta crappy, but sorta nice. only use it for distortion. sounds ok - slightly nasally - but not nearly as good as...

marshall jmp-1. awesome on my bass - sounds better than it does on guitar, imo. fantastic distortions and remarkably quiet, considering.

aguilar db680. nothing more need be said :).