My custom left handed mockingbird replica (Emg 40tw+Emg 85)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Gwohawin, Feb 1, 2021.

1. Gwohawin

Gwohawin

Jun 15, 2020
    Turkey
    Hello, my fellow bass players, today I want to share with you my experience with building a left-handed bass body because it's pretty much impossible to get your hands on any good lefty basses where I live, so here's my story of building this bad boy. I'll take better photos when I get my hands on my camera, for now, we're stuck with bad lighting phone camera photos, sorry :/
    WhatsApp Image 2021-02-02 at 04.38.32 (1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2021-02-02 at 04.38.32 (2).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2021-02-02 at 04.38.32.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2021-01-26 at 23.12.18.jpeg
    The story:
    I started playing bass 6-7 months ago, and my first bass was a right-handed cort action, I liked the looks and the sound but it was right-handed and with a lot of problems, so I was looking for a proper guitar to help me with my learning. But my options were really limited and i didn't like any of them tbh, so I decided to build my own. My first try was a neck-thru thunderbird, but that somewhat failed(i might try to finish that one this summer), turns out building a guitar was harder than it seemed. Anyway, I still needed a lefty, so I decided to try again, this time with a mockingbird style body and reusing my cort's neck(nut was changed to fit reverse strings anyway, so it was already prepared for the project).