passive Fender into active and vice versa

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jj.833, Apr 18, 2018.

1. Hi!
    I've got 1977 classical Fender Jazz bass. Sounds great. I started playing in a big band, where I would use some mid-song knob tweaking - get louder for a while, more mids etc. Floorboard does not solve it, I need to do it according to what I hear, not according to what I set in advance. Active electronics would solve it perfectly. But, I don't want to cut new holes into the bass, feels barbarish to me. Is there any active electronics circuitry on the market, that would easily fit into classical jazz bass body?
    Thanks a lot!

2. eastcoasteddie

eastcoasteddie Guest

Mar 24, 2006
    Audere and John East preamps

3. WesW

WesW <>< Supporting Member

Jul 25, 2002
    Huntsville, AL
    +1 on the Audere (and I've heard wonderful things on the East pre's - just no experience). Have the Audere in my Jazz - and it's amazing. Great tonal possibilities - can go from meaty P to sneery J with a flick. Great pre's and drop in for a jazz...

4. Thanks for tips! I went for Audere JZ, on the sole reason that there were necessary dimensions of the cavity written in the manual, so I could check that it would fit before I ordered.
    Yesterday I mounted it. It was easy enough, though I had to resolder grounding cables on the cavity sheet because there was a big blop of tin right under the battery.

I upload music samples for anybody to check the difference. Recorded straight to soundcard, no afterwork, audere inside caps and pots unchanged, all the tone knobs in middle position:

jazzbass-passive original.mp3
    both pickups - bridge - neck - both slap - neck slap

jazzbass-audere pickups.mp3
    both - bridge - neck - both slap - neck slap

jazzbass-audere Zbutton.mp3
    both pickups. Z button middle - hi - lo