To Rack or not to Rack

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ::::BASSIST::::, Apr 12, 2006.

1. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica] I have never used a rack before. I read that the front sloping face of the eden (i have the 405) can obscure the amp a bit when racked. True? How many spaces do I need for the 405? Are their any disadvantages to using a rack with an eden head (or any head) besides the obscurity issue?

Thanks!
    [/FONT]

2. I've never seen a 405 in a rack, and not sure that it is designed for rack mounting, given the front sloping head. Actually, one of the advantages of getting a small, lightweight head like the 405 is that you don't need to rack mount it. Eden makes a great padded carrying bag for the 550/405 with a pouch for cables, etc. I would highly recommend that.

3. ::::BASSIST::::

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Thanks Ken. Nice to hear from you again!

4. SteveC

SteveC Gold Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2004
    NE ND
    Yeah, except they never have them ...ever. No one, not even Eden knows when they'll have them again. It's very frustrating. I have an Eden WT-550 and part of the reason is that it is small. It also sounds VERY good. I think I will order a Euphonic Audio bag. They are almost the same size and you can get them now. $75.

5. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Saint Louis, MO USA

The only real reason I see for racking a head alone is the protection it offers for transportation.

I have my 2-space Eden head in a 4-space rack. I like being able to keep a rack tuner in there and have a extra space to throw something else in if and when I want to. Maybe a compressor or the like.

Anything over 4 spaces is too cumbersome for me to deal with. I used an 8-space for a while, but it was bulky to carry and weighed a TON.

6. ibz

ibz Guest

Apr 14, 2005
    Columbus, OH