1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

2 Finger Alternate Technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BassMick, Apr 13, 2010.

1. BassMick

BassMick

Apr 13, 2010
    Hello everyone, I'm a newbie at bass and I understand the two finger (index & middle) technique. I understand having it very strict when alternating the fingers to play a fill or fast run.

Is it so necessary that I must alternate the fingers when playing a slow or mid-tempo groove that has notes tie together?

Also, I saw a video of someone saying resting your thumb on the pick up is bad because the acid from your sweat will ruin the pick up? is that bull 5h!t?

Thank you for your time!

2. You rest your thumb on the plastic part, and the part that actually makes a signal is the metal part, I call BS on that.

And no, it isn't necessary to do anything, do what you want/feels comfortable/works for you.

3. David1234

David1234

Jun 1, 2004
    Sydney, Australia
    Endorsing Artist: SWR Amplifiers
    For me, the idea of trying to be disciplined with finger alternation in slow passages is that I'll then be in a strong habit, so that when I play a fast passage I won't have to think about it and the right motion will 'just come out right'. It's not worth worrying about so massively that it gives you a complex or anything, but it is worth doing.

As for resting a thumb on a pickup; I've been doing it for 24 years and my basses are fine, so I think you can safely ignore that video. Check out 'moveable anchor technique' though when you're ready - your thumb will move from resting on the pickup to muting various strings depending what note you're playing. Again, over time this should become automatic.

4. BassMick

BassMick

Apr 13, 2010
    Thank you very much for the informative replies. Also, When playing slap/poping bass, should the action be high or low? or dosen't really matter?