1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

2nd Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tooned, Jun 8, 2007.

1. Tooned

Tooned

Sep 14, 2006
    White Rock BC
    Hi,
    I've been playing for a little over a year. A relative noob here.

Currently I play and Fender Am. Std. 4 string Precision. I'm curious of what people's opinions would be of what a good 2nd bass would be. I love my P but would like to add some versatility down the road just for fun.
    I play rock and punk but have little interest in funky or slap styles. (nothing against them mind you)

I was thinking a five string jazz type bass because it'll give me the low D string and a more variable sound.
    Is that a good choice or should I be looking for a 5 string P/J? I'm a fan of the fender looking basses but Fender's choices of colour options are limited. (at least with the new ones)

How does a Lakland Skyline Joe Osborn for example compare in price and build quality to and American Fender?
    As for price range.. Similar to the American Std Fenders, so less than $1500.

Opinions and suggestions appreciated.:bassist:
    Thanks.

2. MD-BassPlayer

MD-BassPlayer Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    If you're like most (myself included) you'll go over all the choices and weigh the pros and cons and second guess, third guess, etc the decision. A Skyline JO 5 string would be far from a bad choice. Pick up one used and you will be able to recoup nearly the full price paid should you decide it's not you're thing.

IMHO, you're on the right track looking for a 5 string Jazz. Of course it really depends on what kind of music you want to play.

3. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains