4 or 5 strings?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by verino, Jul 7, 2005.

1. verino

Jul 7, 2005
    Hi i'm new here. Anyways I have a question. Ive been playing bass for 2 months and I am starting to make great progress. The bass I have is alright. its a 4 string fender replica but its not that great. So ive been saving up to buy a new one. I keep running into a problem. Should I get i 5 or 4 string? Ive been told to master 4 first but I LOVE the low and power full tones i get from that 5th string.
    So wich should I get? 5 or 4?
  2. Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    Get a 5 if you like the notes the B string gives you. It's not any harder or any more complicated-er.
  3. illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    If you want a five, get a five. But crappy fives tend to be worse than crappy fours, as the B string will often be loose and useless on low end basses, just a warning.
  4. Matt Call

Matt Call Supporting Member

Aug 1, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    I agree. Look around a bit. Find one with a B string tension that you actually like. If I may, I'd recommend yamaha. THey're relatively inexpensive, sound incredible, and have nice B strings. I had a BBG5S and let it go to get my Bongo. I bought it for $275 used. It was one of the best purchases I've ever made. My first bass was a Fender MIM Jazz Std. 5er, which I spent about $300 on. The Yammie blows/blew it out of the water hands down (IMO).
  5. bikeplate

bikeplate Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2001
    Upstate NY

Visit a store with both. Play some. See what u think. The 5 is the same, basically. Its a bit more work to play cleanly at high volumes muting the strings. Thats about it

6. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Get a real bass ... five strings.
  7. Make it an even half dozen... :bassist:
  8. Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA