Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

4strings with small nut widths and small bodies???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BASSBOOST, May 2, 2005.

1. Hey guys I've been playing bass for about 2 months now and I own a G&L L-2000 tribute.The problem is the body is uncomfortably big for me and the nut width seems big.I have very short fingers and find it akward to play.I am looking for small and thin bodied basses with small nut width.Can you guys help with some brand and models that fit this criteria??Price range is about $1000 and I play every kind of music but I love to play hard rock and metal. Any help would be great. Thanks, Nik.

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Small body and neck? Sounds like a Steinberger to me. ;)

3. peabody

peabody Supporting Member

Oct 31, 2002
    La Crosse, WI
    Try a Music Man Sterling. From your description, I believe the neck would work well for you. You can certainly pick up a used one in that price range (and still have change leftover). Good luck with your search.

4. Beav

Beav Graphics Whore

Jul 17, 2003
    Middle Tennessee
    Designer: Beav's Graphics
    Check out the new Ibanez SRX series. They sound great with the dual humbuckers and have tiny necks.

[​IMG]

5. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    Seconding the Sterling. Warwicks (I think their lower-end models are in your price range) also have pretty small bodies, but tend to have pretty thick necks.

6. Trev

Trev

Feb 23, 2004
    Tune basses have pretty small bodies and necks. I tried one out and it was good, but it lacked something tonally that I couldnt quite figure out tho. Just a personal preference I guess.

Edit: whoops I forgot about your budget. they may be over 1000... i think they have a korean series for under 1000 tho

7. Marcus Willett

Marcus Willett Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2005