1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A complete Bass Tabs Method ?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by holy, Oct 9, 2019.

1. holy

holy

Oct 9, 2019
    Hi !

(First, I'm french, my english is not perfect, don't hesitate to correct me)

Do you have a must-have method book for the bass ?

I'm a drummer, and learning bass since a year.

I already own the Hal Leonard complete edition, but I don't think it fits with what I'm searching for : too much blues and rock lines for me, it forces me to read the notes (which I do know read but it is slowing me down), also this method seems to evolve too slowly for me, I prefer something hard and enjoy every page of a book. The Hal Leonard's Method makes me want to skip pages until I find something challenging...
    This is not normal.

Then, I am searching for a complete course (finger, slap, pick, scales, chords, anything ! I like technical stuffs) :
    - in the form of a book (i want to find my "bible", with a beggining and an end, something that I can touch, I don't like online courses at all)
    - with tabs (I'm using the Hal Leonard's method to improve on reading)
    - modern examples : fusion, jazz, even electro for example. I'm not rejecting classic rock and blues music, it's just it's less interesting FOR ME (no offense guys).
    - something organized : not just a compilation of music tabs, skills building and advices are important

Maybe this book does not exist, but this thread could be a good way to summarize the pros/cons of different book references.

Thanks for your help mates ! [​IMG]
    Holy

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Hello and welcome to TB :)

In my opinion the Hal Leonard book is one of the best out there. You don't have to like the music featured in the book. Simply learn what the book is teaching and then apply it to the music you like.