Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A little help here please?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by xLoveElectriCx, Dec 5, 2004.

1. Hi, I am a new member to this forum, and to the world of bass guitar but I am willing to learn how to play. I am tired of sitting around in my house when I can't skate due to the weather or whatever else gets in the way. I am deciding if I should buy my friends bass guitar, an Ibanez, with a 20 watt amp for 120 dollars. I'm not really looking to buy a great bass guitar because I'm a beginner and I don't know how to play, so if anyone can help me on this and offer some insight I'd be grateful. I have some questions on my mind that I would appreciate some answers for:

1. His bass guitar is a right handed bass. I am a lefty. Since I don't know how to play guitar or bass, period, would I be able to learn how to play with his right handed bass? Or is it mandatory for leftys to play with left handed basses?

2. Is an Ibanez with a 20 watt amp good for beginners? I am not looking for something spectacular for my money, I just want to know if 120 dollars is worth the items listed above.

3. A bass guitar is bigger than a guitar, so does a persons height, stature, or arm length matter? Would I have problems playing if I am small?

2. Minger

Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Leftie may be a worse idea in the end, because there are less basses for them...and I'm not sure about this, but you may be paying a little more.

a 20 watt amp is only good for practicing (and pretty much alone at that)...But for $120 I guess its a pretty decent deal because a bass that plays is worth at least $80 and...yea.

how you decide if you want a rightie or leftie bass is all up to you.