Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

a little help...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dubstyle5000, Jan 24, 2005.

1. dubstyle5000

dubstyle5000 Guest

Jan 24, 2005
    Milwaukee, WI
    Hi everyone, I'm new to this site. I've been playing bass for a few years but just currently starting to cut my teeth on theory. I am hoping some of you guys can help me out with some things along the way.

Most recently I was doing some reading about modes and scales and the author of an article referred to a 3rd of a scale as minor. How can a note in a scale be minor? Certainly I understand what a flat third is, but a minor?

Thanks in advance!

2. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    The chord that is built on the third degree of the major scale is minor.

Take the C major scale. The triad built on E, the third note, is E G B... E minor.

3. dubstyle5000

dubstyle5000 Guest

Jan 24, 2005
    Milwaukee, WI
    Okay, thanks. I think I understand. By triad you mean I, III, V, right?

Hope that makes sense...

4. what your getting into is ......... well, scale teminology.

Each interval (arithmatical distance between pitches) consists of a specific number of half steps. The number of half steps in the interval determines the "quality" of the interval.

In your example of thirds, an interval of a third can have four different qualities. Major, Minor, Augmented, or Diminished.
    A Major third consist of four half steps between pitches, a Minor third has three half steps between pitches. So you could effectively think of a Minor third as a flatted Major third, but for theoretical puprposes, that's not correct terminology. The terminology all has to do with distance between pitches.