1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Acoustic Bass Guitar -- too genre-oriented?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by foq1978, Jan 2, 2012.

1. foq1978

foq1978

Aug 7, 2009
    Rio de Janeiro
    I've been thinking about getting an electric-acoustic bass guitar, but I was wondering if they sound / look too restrict to certain genres (I don't see many bass players using them).

Is it because of its tone?

What are your impressions on acoustic bass guitars?

HBS-190-BK-01.

2. I bought a really cheap ABG from eBay a few years ago. I only wanted it to play around the house when I didn't want to turn on my amp. It was an awful bass, but it came in handy for figuring things out and allowed me to discover that I prefer short scale. I hated it. I started playing at open mics where they wouldn't let me play my electric through the PA. It didn't sound too bad, but the high action made it difficult to play while I was singing, so I upgraded to an Ibanez AEB 5. Although this is the bottom of the Ibanez line and is medium scale, it is really growing on me.

As to genre, maybe ABGs are best for acoustic types of music. With no amplification, there is little volume, as you may already know. I don't know what the best ABG for metal is, though.

I'd start a thread for that, but too many people would thing I was trolling when I'm just trying to be a wise guy.

SeamzKing likes this.
  3. My first bass was a Fender GB-41 SCE acoustic. It's a 34" scale bass with a large body. Like all ABGs and 6-string acoustics, it has that signature sound. Depending on how you play and what you have in the signal chain, a number of tones can be produced, but it's not going to have that solid body sound, i.e. thump, growl, etc.