1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Active and passive.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pumpkinking39, Mar 23, 2013.

1. pumpkinking39

pumpkinking39

Sep 14, 2011
    Now i know this has been thrown out there a million times but i need to hear peoples opinions, I'm thinking about switching out my Stiletto Customs stock EMGHZ pickups for some active EMGs.

What id like to know is what you fellow bassists think of this, what made you switch from passive to active or vice versa, and is the passive to active switch really worth it?

2. Prepare Thy Self.

3. CheshireCatFun

CheshireCatFun

Mar 9, 2013
    Indeed.

C.

4. pumpkinking39

pumpkinking39

Sep 14, 2011
    Im guessing that means i just posted a question thats been beat the hell out of. And now I'm a noob. Hm. Sorry i asked. Apps search function doesn't help much.

5. pumpkinking39

pumpkinking39

Sep 14, 2011
    But my knowledge on active pickups is limited but i know the basics, what makes passive sound different from active soun as far as recording and listening to it with the ear goes?

6. CheshireCatFun

CheshireCatFun

Mar 9, 2013
    Eh, huh? What's all this sorry I asked crap? It's a legit question, and there's lots of misinformation out there, so it always helps to get clarification.

And, yes, you will be blown away. It's like going from regular DVD to Blu-Ray or HD. And a lot of it also comes down to performance as well.

C.

7. pumpkinking39

pumpkinking39

Sep 14, 2011
    I read somewhere that the with active, the wood of the bass doesnt matter so much, is this true?

8. pumpkinking39

pumpkinking39

Sep 14, 2011
    And thanks for understanding my legitimate question. Im reading different stuff everywhere

9. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY