1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Advice for Transitioning to a Rock Band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by iambucket, Apr 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Hi guys and girls. I'm out to achieve one of my big dreams, that is to play in a rock band. I've played in college groups and have a degree in music theory but I consider this goal to be so outside of my experience that I see myself as a beginner. I was hoping to get some advice from you all as to what I need to do to get caught up.

My background is in jazz. I always stuck to electric. I have a good ear, timing and melodic intuition. I know theory but I'm trying to unlearn it for now, or at least relearn as would a rocker. I mosty played in combos that were either 5 or 6 piece.

I am very green when it comes to gear/sound/technology. I tend to just want to plug in and play and never had to do anything outside of this while in school. My school had a sound crew that took care of all of the set-up. I don't even know what amp I had. It was my dad's Fender but I don't know anything besides that. I had a 70s P-Bass. I admittedly neglected learning about gear so I know that is an area I need to get comfortable with. Right now I'm borrowing my dad's Epi SG because I'm liking the short scale (and equally so, the weight of a short scale). I have a little Danelectro practice amp. I know this is only good for practicing but I wanted to build up my chops before investing in equipment.