Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

advice on Ampeg SVT-350

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dvon1981, Jan 12, 2006.

1. dvon1981

dvon1981

Jan 12, 2006
    Hi all,

I'm brand new here. I've been playing bass for around 7 years on and off but recently got back into a band.

I really like the sound of the Ampeg SVT350 paired with the 410HE cab.

My question is, will the 200 watts this drives @ 8ohms be enough to play out. I currently am using a Fender bassman 100 combo with a single 15.

Now I've done the math and with additional speaker surface area and wattage the ampeg should be around 87% louder. that's numbers though. Anyone run a similar setup? I'm looking to buy this setup soon and don't want to find out after the fact that it's not loud enough

2. spectorbass83

spectorbass83

Jun 6, 2005
    canada
    What kind of music does your new band play? How many guitarists are there and what kind of amps do they use? Is your drummer loud?

It'll be a lot easier to answer your question with this info. By the way, welcome to the forums :D

3. dvon1981

dvon1981

Jan 12, 2006
    Sorry I'm at work and was rushing.

We play pop/punk (think new found glory but not so cheesy)

2 guitarists
    both have 4x10 cabs
    lead is loudest line 6 head w/ 410 cab
    drummer is loud as well

4. spectorbass83

spectorbass83

Jun 6, 2005
    canada
    You will probably run into some volume issues since you will be competing with two half stacks. From what I have learned, 200 watts is not enough to hang with two 4x10 guitar cabs and a hard hitting drummer.. Perhaps if you ask the guitarists to watch their volume and get the drummer to lay off a bit you may get by....

What is the maximum you can spend?

5. dvon1981

dvon1981

Jan 12, 2006