1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

advice on what to keep

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Mr Ralph, Jul 12, 2014.

1. Mr Ralph

Mr Ralph

Jul 12, 2014
    Hinckley Ohio
    Hey everyone this is my first post. I have been playing BG and Guitar for years. I have recently switched to DB. I am loving it. I have a 1941 kay which was professionally set up.
    I am not a professional gigging musician. I play at two churches and some small coffee houses. The church is with a pianist, guitar and vocalists. The coffee house are just a guitar player and sometimes a keyboard.
    Here is the dilemma. Currently I own and am using the following.

sansamp para driver into a Crown D150A amp or sometimes a DC300A both as a mono Block. I have a Yorkville XC-115 cabinet. I don't mind this at church because I can leave it set up.
    For the coffee house and the other small church I just go into the PA.
    I have a dual element piezo and a AT U857Q mounted to my tailpiece. It is the same mic used in the ATM350.
    I have ordered a preamp from Francis Deck.
    I have a guy that wants to trade me an GK MB115 for my XC-115 plus $150. I am thinking of doing it. Or do you guys think I would be better off selling it all and get something like an acoustic image or euphonic ect. I am not earning any money at this but I still want to sound good. The other problem I an having is blending the mic with the pickup.
    The other option would be to keep the XC-115 and get one of the new lightweight heads to go with it. Or keep the Crowns and get a Preamp. Maybe Mr. Decks preamp will be enough right into the crown or Pardriver? Thoughts?
    And of course learning and developing the proper skills to get the most sound out of it naturally.
    Thanks

2. Welcome to TB Mr Ralph!