1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Akai Unibass - anybody gigging with it?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by MrDOS, Nov 11, 2010.

1. I am in a three-piece, and the online demos of the Akai Unibass are pretty impressive. But the cost is getting to the point where we could hire a rhythm guitarist for 3 gigs for what one of these is going for!

I'd love to hear some real-world thoughts. And I'm probably looking for an excuse to not bring a separate guitar rig to fill out our sound on club dates! LOL

2. I've been using a UniBass for several years with satisfying results and most often I do not bring a separate rig for it. A compressor and having the input set to the right level keeps tracking in line for me. I use if for a pseudo 8 string, to punch a bass solo or melody part, to double a bass part a guitar octave up and occasionally adding the 4th/5th power chord sound. The overdrive is okay used in small doses with the tone turned way down but mainly I use it clean or with some other od or distortion pushing the UniBass.
    Using a separate rig does sound better and offers a lot of options but since i am too lazy to haul a 2nd amp however i do record that way from time to time.

3. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

I used one for years. It's a very straightforward unit, super easy to use make sound good.
    I'm pretty sure they don't sell for as much as some sellers are asking.
    People apparently try to get into the tracks of the Deep Impact with this one, whichis ridiculous.
    This pedal is great but not that highly sought after.

4. Is that an old world expression? This Yank does not know what you mean! :)

5. fasto

fasto

Mar 4, 2007
    Amsterdam, NL
    concerning prices for the great Unibass ... i track prices here (scroll down and check the chart below the audio samples): http://www.hansvanrock.com/akai-ub-1-unibass/