Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Amp doesn't react. What could happen?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Miritalner, Oct 16, 2005.

1. Miritalner

Miritalner

Oct 16, 2005
    Hello, I'm new here and I'm also a complete novice to bass playing, so maybe my question would seem stupid.
    But the case is, today I turn on my practice amp and I hear that low continuous sound. No reaction to anything that I do with my bass. The amp just sits there and keeps humming the note so well that any singer would be jealous.
    What could go wrong? Could it be that I stuffed it up by pulling the connection cable out of socket while the amp was turned on? It happened once I didn't realize I walked off too far away playing my bass and the cable popped out. Apart from that, I didn't even touch it that often except the on/off switch.

2. It's going to be difficult to tell what's wrong without a bit more information. It could be something as simple as a bad cable or just time to replace the battery in your bass (if it uses one). If you know the make/model of the amp that might be useful.

3. Miritalner

Miritalner

Oct 16, 2005
    No, my bass works without battery.
    Hmm, it looks like the model is NOTHING. :) It just says BA20 on it, meaning it is a Bass Amplifier with 20 Watts of loudness. I got it from e-bay in one of those starter packs. Maybe I should contact the seller and ask them since I got the warranty. But I just want to find out what could possibly go wrong.

4. Rule #1 Always start with the cheap stuff when you're troubleshooting and don't know what the problem is. Good advice when you start swapping stuff out to see what the problem is.

Is that a low note its "singing"? Does it do it with the cord unplugged?

If it only does that with the cord and bass unplugged, it would be the amp, but might just be a loose wire on the input jack.