Another question about conflicting bands

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Mellem, Oct 14, 2004.

1. Mellem

Feb 1, 2002
    Greenville, MI
    Hi everyone. I used to be a more prominent poster, but kind of lost touch with posting and bass playing. I've since found the light again, and now I'm in college looking for a band to jam with. Maybe I'll start posting a lot, but I feel like I never have anything to add that hasn't been said. But that's not the point.

I started playing with a group of guys, sort of a band in the making, but they don't practice at regular times, or consistently, so I was thinking of looking for something else. They also drink and party a lot, which there's nothing wrong with, but it's not my style. So I was thinking about looking for other bands to play with, and found some adds and things. I don't know if I should pursue other opportunities though, because I kind of have a commitment, and I get along with the guys. They are also really good, so I'm reluctant to leave.
  2. {OE}

Sep 23, 2004
    Connecticut, U.S.
    IF YOU are serious about your current band, in your position, I would approach the other band members and ask for their opinion.

I dont see why they should have any expectations of you the way you describe the situation, and if they do, maybe its for the best that you do look for other opportunities. That said, I only stayed w/ bands if I was enjoying myself. Once it stops being fun, its over.... :cool:

:ninja: :edit: BTW, welcome back! :bassist: :ninja:
  3. Mellem

Feb 1, 2002
    Greenville, MI
    Thanks for the welcome! I guess I really enjoy playing with them, but they aren't serious enough (as far as practicing at set times and such) for my taste. But I don't know if this is just how things are trying to jam in college settings, or if I could probably find a better set up.
  4. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA