1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Any suggestions for a video editing program?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Ubersheist, Mar 9, 2013.

1. I'm a newbie, and just want to post up some video with audio. I plan on trying to sync up music to video, or vice versa. I'll be making some basic instructional videos and live promo junk, where the audio is going into ProTools or Sonar, and I'll have a video camera going, too. I've been using the Windows Movie Maker, and found it's really not made for that. I'm not interested in using Protools 9's (or higher versions) video tools or anything like that, as I want a true video editing program. Here's what I'm looking for:

1. Easy to use. I'm a newbie, don't know much about videos
    2. Simple in that I don't need any extras (except simple titles and text). It's mostly just syncing up audio to video only.
    3. Audio controls
    4. Cheap! I don't know what they cost, though.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

2. Rockin Mike

Rockin Mike

May 27, 2011
    Openshot for Linux does everything I need.

A quick Google shows that something called "Lightworks" is an open source video editor for Windows.

I never used Lightworks, don't know how good it is, but my experience with Linux is that the best free open source programs are as good or better than their expensive proprietary competition.

3. macrocheesium

macrocheesium

Sep 12, 2012
    I've always liked Sony Vegas. The current version (12) is expensive, but 11 is on Amazon for $70 right now which I consider to be a great deal. This is professional software and worth much more than that.

I've never used Openshot, but in general I've never had as much luck with open source software like that. Still, it's free so it wouldn't hurt to try.

4. DigitalMan