1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Attn. pick users ! Requesting info and opinions.......

Discussion in 'Accessories [BG] - NEW!' started by Brocephus, Sep 22, 2019.

1. Brocephus

Brocephus

Sep 18, 2019
    I tried the search feature, but in typical internet forum fashion, I got everything but what I was looking for.
    I'm just beginning to learn the bass, but have played guitar for decades (or what some might call my approximation of guitar playing!), and at this point in life, I'm just not gonna reinvent the wheel, and ditch my picks. I'm comfortable and reasonably proficient with them, and starting from scratch with my fingers would be like trying to learn to play left handed, and it just ain't happening.
    I've long been a fan of the nylon Dunlops, and have a stash of them in 73, 88 and 1.0 mm, and have been using the black 1.0 on the bass. I like the nylon over something like celluloid, but am open to other materials.
    But, if I could pick and choose (ha! see what I did there ! :laugh:), I'd have something a tiny bit stiffer, and a tiny bit larger. I can find stiffer gauges, but not seeing anything similar, that's a tiny bit larger ( but don't want to be manhandling some monster pick that's the size of a silver dollar!)
    So anyway, you get the idea, I was hoping for any info,opinions, experiences,advice, warnings,recommendations, amusing anecdotes, etc. that you guys feel would be relevant and helpful (other than, "ditch the pick, and learn to play with your grubby fingers!" :D)
    thanks.......

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Maybe try a triangle pick?

I really like Clayton picks (although I use several different kinds during a show). Try these. And it's only a three dollar experiment!