Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Auditioning for bar gigs

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by chris4001asat, Nov 10, 2004.

1. chris4001asat

chris4001asat

Dec 16, 2002
    Toledo, Ohio
    Warehouse Manager : Reverend Guitars
    I'm new to the world of cover bands, and twice so far, we've had to audition at area clubs. Both times, 2 sets, at night. Is this common practice or is the club getting a free night of music? We have a professional live recording, and have played out at least once a month for the past year.

2. Funkee1

Funkee1

Jul 19, 2002
    Texas
    Some clubs require this, but they are usually the clubs that pay the least. One thing you could try is finding out what agent books the clubs in your area, and getting him your demo.

The downside is you have to pay him 10 or 20 percent.

However, if you get enough of the other clubs, you may noit have to worry about it.
    Just my 2 cents! good luck!

3. secretdonkey

secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    Sounds like the club is getting a night of free music, if ya ask me... especially if your demo sounds halfway decent.

I've never experienced this, but I bet Funkee is right about those clubs being the ones that pay the least... an established working band isn't likely going to play two sets for free. If you're new to the cover band scene, then this may be the sort of thing that "low bands on the totem pole" have to endure in your area until they earn enough cred and/or representation to get into the better clubs... just a guess. If you have other options, I'd avoid those gigs unless the potential opportunity is just too good to pass up (doubt that somehow). :)

4. mr e

mr e

Nov 17, 2003
    nyc
    go there on open mic night and tear the roof off!

or, hire a booking agent and play for a guarantee

5. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI