1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Auralex GrammaV2 to attenuate low frequencies?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Father Time, Jan 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. OK, I'm a drummer.....(but I do play bass as well). I'm searching for a solution that will attenuate my bass players low frequencies (for live small club use) on a wood stage. I'd like to know if anyone has used the Auralex Gramma V2, and found it to focus the bass sound and alleviate the "mud", and extremely low end frequencies that tend to build up on a wood stage. Problem is, we both setup in a corner, and that's the worst place because the low end and standing waves accumulate and it's killing me. No alternative setup is available, and we play pretty loud. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

2. andawun

andawun

Jul 13, 2009
    I use one and it does help, especially on hollow stages.

3. Thanks andawun. I'm hopeful it helps. I'm one of the unlucky few that suffers from sensitivity to low frequencies. this may help with that. I'm also going to be wearing isolation headphones. I'll report back after next weekend.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2017
  4. Just wanted to update this post just in case anyone is looking for a way to deal with too much low end from your bass cab on stage. I bought the Auralex Gramma V2 and my bass player used it to put his cabinets on last night. Neither he nor myself noticed any difference using the Auralex pad from the cabinets sitting directly on the stage. So that's going back. (I also bought a pair of Iso headphones that are supposed to cut all frequencies by 29DB. those didn't work either).
    I'm just having to set up in an area that reinforces low frequencies, and it's killing me. Unfortunately it isn't going to change.
    Thanks again for your comment andawun.

5. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004