1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bad Reason to Join a Band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by JoZac21, Aug 17, 2012.

1. JoZac21

JoZac21

Nov 30, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY
    A preemptive Thank You and Nod to anyone who reads this long, inane, rant:

I have been playing music for 20 years now. I have, in my life time, been in at least 17 bands. I studied at a prestigious music school for three years...

If I am being completely honest, I know I am a damned good musician. I know I can hold my own playing with well established professional musicians... I have... (this is not meant to sound like bragging, and I hope it doesn't, but I know this is the case).

Despite everything I mentioned above, I have really gotten nowhere as far as being "successful" goes. I have never been in a band that has a following of people that doesn't consist almost entirely of friends of the band. I have never gone on tour - not even a one gig out-of-town thing. I have spent much more money on equipment, lessons, etc. than I have ever made as a musician.

So here's the deal:

I am currently playing in a band in which I really like the music... only it's not going anywhere, and I doubt it ever will. The band has existed in some incarnation or another for over ten years (I've only been a member for a year) - and we still play to about a dozen people per gig on average. My last band used to play to about 100, but I like this band better...

Yesterday I found an ad on Craigslist for a band looking for a bass player... and they seem to really have their act together - they've already toured, done interviews, opened for/played with some established acts, etc.