1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass amp recommendations

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pod222, Mar 25, 2009.

1. pod222

pod222

Mar 24, 2009
    Newbie here. I appreciate there are hundreds of posts for "amp advice", so I've tried to pose some specific questions. Any thoughts appreciated.
    Time to move from a practice amp (50w Yorkville) to something bigger. My "genre" is still unsettled, but mainly bluegrass, country, classic rock, not too hard, playing in smaller to medium clubs, mainly with fiddle, acoustic guitar, banjo and bagpipes (admittedly an eclectic blend), and on the side drums and electric guitar, but only rarely. Usually can plug into the mains. My instruments are an upright, Fender Jazz and banjo-bass (by Gold Tone) - also an eclectic blend. Everything has a pickup. Looking to buy used (CL), hoping to spend between 300 and 500 (CDN).
    I think these are the questions I need to ask (myself or the forum members):
    1. combo or separate
    2. which instrument's should I worry most about; seems the upright may be the most finicky (?)
    3. how big?
    4. any disadvantage to buying quality used? Do amps get "better" or "worse" with age?
    5. any particular amps better suited for upright?
    Thanks for any help

2. bassman_al

bassman_al Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2008
    Fairfax, VA USA
    I have never bought a new amp (20 years of playing) and to this date have never regretted it. GK, Hartke and Ampeg amps. Good luck!

3. Dan55

Dan55

Apr 26, 2006
    Atlanta
    For the types of instruments and styles of music you're playing, I'd probably look for a used Gallien-Krueger 400RB head and a 2x10, 1x12, or 1x15 cabinet. The G-K MB150 combo or separates are also worth consideration. Then again, if you like your Yorkville combo, a move up to one of their more powerful combos is worth thinking about.

Dan