Bass and Drums showoff

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Circus, Mar 23, 2004.

1. Hey, my band is having its first performance coming up april 10th, we've our set list of 10 originals and 4 covers ready to go, but the drummer and I want to show off some skill and do something together, what do you suggest? I was thinking of something with a smokin slap line, or anything that can wow a crowd. Good drum part is important as well. Thanks!
  2. since i have no knowledge of you or your drummer's groove ability, i'm gonna play it safe and say that doing the solo thing is pretty risky...its a good way to lose a crowd if its anything less than perfect.
  3. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Listen to some funk, jazz, and acid jazz. Learn the bass lines, and get the drummer to learn the drum beats. Play them together without the other instruments, and you have yourself a drum & bass solo that can go for however long you want.
    My personal artist of choice? Jamiroquai and Directions In Groove (D.I.G) ;)
    The reason for a 'funky' drum and bass solo? well, i presume (sorry) your in a rockish sorta band, so it wouldnt hurt to throw some funkay grooooves in ther, and really show the audience about your broad listening spectrum ;)
  4. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    First gig? I'd tend to keep it simple. Rather than dropping in another tune, how about taking one of the songs you're playing building up the intensity and then dropping it back to just a drum and bass groove. Jam around a bit, making sure you don't loose the groove, and then let the other instruments gradually come back in until you round off with another chorus or two.

Sure, it's a cliche, but it works really well.

5. That can backfire too. I know when I go to a rock show, the last thing I wanna here is Sly And the Family Stone...