Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass Clef Help.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Osama_Spears, Oct 5, 2003.

1. Hello...

I am just beginning to read bass clef,and I would like to learn some songs by using it...

Does anyone have a site where I can find some songs that are on bass clef and somewhat easy to play?

I have a book full of songs w/ clef...but it has the TAB right under it,and my eyes often wander....and also,I'd hate to cover up every single tab in the book:p

Thank you.

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Hmm... you might get a better response over in GI. Insert whooshing noise here.

3. you're right...thanks alot.

4. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Click the little link in my signature ;)

It's a lifesaver!

5. Nick Gann

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    a few basic ideas:

1)The line between the dots is F
    2)Lines, from bottom to top, are Good Boys Do Fine Always.
    3)Spaces, from bottom to top, are All Cows Eat Grass.

6. and the spaces are All Cows Eat Grass...I know that,I know how to read it...just would like to get more fimiluar with it.

thanks anyways though:)

7. Nick Gann

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    That is how you get familiar with it.

The best thing for you to do right now:

Make flash cards. On one side, write the note, and on the other side, draw the staff with the corresponding note. Quiz yourself both ways. See the note, and say what letter it is. Then once you can do that, reverse it. Look at the letter, and tell what space or line it is. Practice is the only way. There is nothing to do other than practice.

8. Yes teacher;)

Actually...thats not a bad idea at all.

and also,you reminded me that I have an assload of Homework to take care of.

Thank you Ganny-poo.:p

9. Nick Gann

Mar 24, 2002