1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass distortion help

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by CN2667, Nov 19, 2018.

1. CN2667

CN2667

Mar 15, 2018
    Hey guys I recently started playing bass for a local band and they want me to use a distortion, fuzz, or overdrive. I've been using my Fuzzrocious 420 Fuzz but its too much for bass. What I am looking for is something that will have some clean signal + dirt or at the very least some distortion with note definition. I'm more of a guitarist and when I play bass I prefer not to use any effects but I want to give them the sound they are looking for. I was looking at the MXR M85 or maybe even trying to go OCD or Rat but I figured I would ask you guys for suggestions.

2. Get a Source Audio Aftershock, play with the engines. You can play with all kinds of dirt sounds and blend to your heart's content. Even if you don't like the Aftershock format, you will at least have gotten to know what you like in dirt sounds without spending money on many different boxes.

3. Robertron

Robertron

Feb 12, 2010
    NewYork, NY
    This is a great suggestion and I vote you try the Aftershock as well if you aren't sure what dirt tone you want to use. If you don't want to deal with the trial and error of trying out different distortion pedals this is the best way to go especially if you don't plan to use lots of effects on bass.
    The Aftershock has settings for basically every prominent bass fuzz, distortion, and overdrive tone you can find. You will definitely find a tone that pleases the band. If you're used to dialing in different distortion tones the learning curve on using the Neuro editor isnt bad and it's a lot of fun to tweak.

javi_bassist likes this.
  4. rratajski

rratajski Commercial User

Jul 1, 2008
    Mount Laurel, NJ
    Builder for FUZZROCIOUS PEDALS