Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bass guitar for the deaf (no joke)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassteban, Sep 23, 2004.

1. Excuse me if this is the wrong area for this; I'm a rookie.

I have a friend whose deaf (not totally, some hearing in the very low range) 14 yr old son wants to play bass. Does anyone out there have any experience teaching bass to someone with no or very limited hearing? I've been advised, and considered, sitting on the speaker, EA's rumble seat, etc, so I'm looking for actual experience(s), but any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I think it is 100% imperative, crucial, critical, amazingly important to consult with a professional teacher for the hearing impaired, to read articles written on the subject, (check the local libraries periodicals, as opposed to the unreliable web content), and to supremely educate yourself.

Without the proper education on your part, it will make things more difficult on yourself and the student.

3. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

the child will have to be really good at theory, and will have to trust his theory, plus will have to watch the drummer constantly to see the beat. but wont be able to see what hes doing if hes watching the drummer, so thats really hard for a rookie.

4. Only

Only

Sep 8, 2002
    Warrensburg, MO
    There's someone on here, I think it's warwickben, who used to have almost no hearing in either ear. I'd ask him.

5. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden
    I saw a TV show once featuring a hearing impaired percussionist (I say "hearing impaired" because she hates the word "deaf"), Evelyn Glennie, who could play the vibraphone like nobody's business. Truly fascinating experience hearing her play, knowing she herself couldn't hear much of what she was doing.