Bassists are lazy.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by mbelue, Dec 1, 2015.

1. Yes, I don't really want to play bass.

3 vote(s)
    10.0%
  2. No, I am a bassist and I can handle it.

27 vote(s)
    90.0%
  1. mbelue

mbelue

Dec 11, 2010
    This reputation that we have as lazy irks me a bit.
    Still every day I read a new thread here and believe it's true.

No body wants to carry anything. Even though cabinets are featherweight now.

We have to goto extraordinary measures to leave our cabinets somewhere.

We want to drive impossibly small cars and complain when our teensy 1x8 15w combo isn't loud enough.

We want to play bass but anything approaching a callous is anathema.

A 10lb bass is too heavy, but have to have an XL scale.

To me all this means:you don't want to play bass.

If you do want to play bass:
    Carry your own poopie.
    Carry enough poopie to get the job done. If the poopie you brought didn't get the job done:its your fault. Stop blaming other people.
    Carry your poopie from some place you are responsible for to wherever you are playing. Then carry your poopie back when you are done.
    Live in a house/apartment where you can store your poopie.
    If your spouse won't let you keep your poopie at home, get a new spouse. Or a storage unit. Deal with the problem on your own. Your poopie is your problem.
    Drive a car that will hold you and your poopie. Expect to have to do so. Public transportation is not how construction workers transport their equipment. They have trucks for that, so should you.
    There is nothing wrong with asking for "a hand" to move your poopie, when you need it. This should not be every time, if it is: get a cart. Your poopie is not the responsibility of the drummer, so stop asking them every time. They still have 6 cymbols to hang( even if you are rehersing at their place and made the schedule themselves).