1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

beating the ache on slapping hand

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by chikin79, Sep 28, 2013.

1. chikin79

chikin79

Aug 21, 2013
    Hey guys im fairly new to this double bass stuff but find my slapping hand aches after only 5 or so mins. The ache seems to mainly be on the forearm just above when the bone sticks out on the wrist. Anyone got an tips or exercises other than to just keep playing lol
    Cheers in advance
    Craig

2. DC Bass

DC Bass

Mar 28, 2010
    Washington DC
    Hey Chikin,

Motion to which you are not accustomed can bring aches and pains- some you have to work through but others are very important indicators that you are doing something wrong and should not be ignored.

Without seeing you play first hand, I might guess that you are holding too much tension in your slapping hand- but it could well be that you need to log more flight hours too...

Think of dribbling a basket ball- how much tension do you hold in your hand and wrist for that action? That is the best way I can describe how to approach slapping.

Check out "The Ungentle Art" by Mark Rubin and Kevin Smith. It's the best tutorial that I have found- or find a skilled slap player and take a lesson or two.

But don't ignore pain! Find out what's causing it and fix the problem!

Joe

3. chikin79

chikin79

Aug 21, 2013
    Ahh thank you. The basketball makes sense and after relaxing it seems to be much easier. Infact I was playing for much longer today without the ache so hopefully its just aumatter of clocking up a few more hours.
    I have just ordered the slapology dvd which I have heard is very good. Thank you for your reply very much appreciated.
    Cheers :)
    Craig

4. DC Bass

DC Bass

Mar 28, 2010
    Washington DC
    Hey Craig,

Great! I'm glad the basketball analogy made sense.

Check out Joe Fick: