Begun prepping this body for finish: what next?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by philthygeezer, Sep 29, 2004.

1. philthygeezer

May 22, 2002
    Got this in yesterday:

I tried sanding at 400 grit to get some of the tool marks out. Too slow. Then went to 320 grit and went a little quicker. Ran the body under the tap and the grain instantly popped up so I sanded it off at 320 wet. There are still a couple of tool scuff marks on the maple top so maybe I wet it down and sand at 320 again? I'm concerned that the body might dry out too much and crack or something. Can this happen?

So should I sand wet at 320 again or go straight to 400 dry and then 600 grit? I've never done this before. :help:

I'll be hand-rubbing a Tru Oil finish into this one.
  2. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    Well, we don't exactly know the condition the body arrived in, but most people start sanding in the 100-150 range and then move to 220 and then 320 before oil. I use 120 to remove tool marks, sometimes 80 if they are deep rasp marks.

If you want to remove tool marks, you'll want to drop down to 220 at least and skip the water. Then go back to the 320 and 400 if you want it.
  3. philthygeezer

May 22, 2002
    Thanks much! I dropped to 220 to remove the marks in the alder on the back, and that did it. However the 220 left scratches that are about the same as the ones on the maple top. 320 grit got trid of them OK though. Seems like alder is much softer than maple...

The scratches on the maple top are barely noticeable and disappear when the body is wet. Will they also disappear with the Tru Oil on it? Is it generally acceptable to have a few tiny scratches left over after sanding?
  4. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    "Ran the body under the tap " !! Yipe!
  5. Scott French

Scott French Dude Supporting Member

May 12, 2004