Best 'No-Fuss' Compression Pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ComeHomeShane, Sep 19, 2021.

1. ComeHomeShane

ComeHomeShane Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2016
    Southern California
    I've been using the MXR M87 on stage for about 6 years. I really love its adjustability and clarity. However, it's extremely sensitive to the bass and rig that is being used. For gigs lately I've been switching between basses a lot
    more than usual, and also been playing more gigs with a backline. So I'm getting tired of needing to spend a lot of time to readjust the M87 constantly.

I typically don't use a lot of compression; just enough to cover the 'uh oh' moments during a performance. My playing has a lot of articulation variety, so I like a slow attack with a fast release from the compression.

'Best' is relative, of course, but please give me some feedback on any 'no fuss' low-maintenance compression pedals that you prefer to use AND why you like it.

Thanks!
    - Shane

Last edited: Sep 19, 2021
  2. Peaveylover

Peaveylover

Dec 6, 2019
    Hands down Boss LM-2B. Easiest, punchiest, most aggressive and pumping comp I've ever played, but can be tamed too. Total sleeper and a total classic.

3. Mushroo

Mushroo

Apr 2, 2007
    Your tastes are exact opposite of mine. My favorite no-fuss compression pedal is the Union T&T Lab. It's an idiot-proof "squish" type optical compressor. Fast attack, slow release. It makes my P-bass sound thick and warm, like a yummy bowl of oatmeal.

Therefore I am going to recommend to you, a compressor that wasn't my cup of tea, but I think would be right up your alley: The Doc Lloyd Photon Death Ray. The controls are simple (having a wet/dry blend is so useful), and it lets plenty of your initial attack transient through, before the compressor clamps down. I would describe the PDR's tone as "punchy" and "articulate," which I think is what you're going for.

4. BLDavis

BLDavis Master of Snarks. Gold Supporting Member

May 21, 2009