Black Sabbath - The End of The End

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by ThudThudThud, Dec 4, 2017.

1. ThudThudThud

ThudThudThud

Jun 4, 2010
    I watched this documentary on Sunday. I had my surround sound set on HD-Digital, so the signal was very clear.

I must say that Geezer Butler's bass tone was simply outrageous. Rock bass as it should sound. Lakland into

There are some weird out of sync sequences here and there (which makes it look like he's 'fumbling' through the songs), and the yakking during songs was distracting (play the interview, or play the song PLEASE!), but cool stuff.

He's one of the reasons I started playing bass, and Black Sabbath was my first concert in 1978, but the tone on this film was next level.

Axstar likes this.
  2. andawun

andawun

Jul 13, 2009
    Agreed. Geezer is a great bassist with awesome technique and tone. Missed Bill Ward though.

sevenyearsdown likes this.
  3. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

I thought he sounded best in the 80s on his B.C. Rich Eagle & AFAIK he's very minimalistic with the pedals.

4. Axstar

Axstar Inactive

Jul 8, 2016
    Scotland.
    Geezer's tone is great, which is a shame if Sabbath are really packing it in. It is like he finally reconciled the drive and churn from the early albums, but with better amplification in a more stable environment. His tone went a bit weak and clean for a period, which didn't always keep up with his aggressive style, but it seems he's back to blending in drive with a clean signal which is his tone.