1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Buy now or wait?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gabriel192, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Wait for Sterling by Musicman Ray35

12 vote(s)
    25.5%
  2. Buy G&L L-2500 Tribute now

11 vote(s)
    23.4%
  3. Buy Lakland 55-01 now

17 vote(s)
    36.2%
  4. Other? (Please mention)

7 vote(s)
    14.9%
  1. gabriel192

gabriel192

Mar 23, 2009
    I've been playing the bass for around 8 months now, but don't own a bass yet. I play moderately well. I have a rather big (for me) gig coming up, and I'd like to buy a bass for it (I currently play a crappy J-bass copy).

My top 3 choices currently are the G&L Tribute L-2500, Lakland Skyline 55-01, and the upcoming Sterling by Musicman Ray35.

First of all, is there another bass in the $800 range you'd consider? (I mostly play praise & worship and jazz)

And my question is, would you buy the bass now, or wait for the Ray35 to come out?

2. smogg

smogg

Mar 27, 2007
    NPR, Florida
    I'm not crazy, I'm just a little unwell
    Hit the TB classifieds, you can score a lot of bass in the used market for $800.

3. BadB

BadB

May 25, 2005
    USA
    Other. For praise and worship/jazz gigs, I'd pick up a used Jazz of some sort out of the classifieds.

4. PSPookie

PSPookie

Aug 13, 2006
    Lubbock, TX
    +1

If you do a bit of shopping, you can find a US L2500 for this price. Don't be afraid to buy used from someone with a good reputaion. There are lots of guys here on TB that will do you right. You'll also find that some of these 'used' instruments are in better shape than the 'new' basses you will find hanging on the wall at GC or Sam Ash. They typically have a better setup as well.