1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Buying a 5 String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Argonot, May 11, 2011.

1. Argonot

Argonot

May 11, 2011
    Hello to everyone. I'm a hobbyist bass player who has been "in the business" the last 4 years.

I'm thinking about buying a 5 string bass (between $350-$450) but I don't know what to go for!

Right now I'm playing metal, System of a Down (I'm in a tribute band to SOAD), Sepultura, Slayer, Megadeth, stuff like that. I need something versatile (I will not play that for my entire life), but "strong-enough" for the kind of music I'm doing today.

What do you recommend?

PD: I have received bad comments about chinese instrument's quality. I dont know if they're bad 100% of the times of if this is just a prejudice. Right now I can't afford something made in America (you have seen my price range...). I'd be very grateful if you tell me about your experience with Asia-made basses too.

2. MrJack

MrJack

May 1, 2011
    I'd suggest the one I'm preparing to buy: a Schecter Omen Extreme 5.

Great axe, and epic sound from the stock pups. And I also play in a SOAD tribute band! :D

3. nukes_da_bass

nukes_da_bass Banned

Feb 19, 2006
    west suburban boston
    in your price range, you are dead set for China if you insist on buying new. Best you are going to get is Korea, with Indonesia in the middle.

I agree with MrJack- If I were in the market at that price I'd go with a Schecter Diamond P5.
    Used you have many choices- including Yamaha and Peavey.

4. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member