1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Buzzing sounds on frets

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by loldrummer, Jan 22, 2012.

1. loldrummer

loldrummer

Jun 20, 2011
    Hey guys!
    Ever since I got my bass, I've been having these Buzz sounds when I press on my frets on my bass guitar and play (My bass is a Fender squier J bass). I'm sorry about this question, I'm a beginner xD. I asked my teacher how do I "Reduce" Or make my buzz sounds be gone, He said that It need a good setup.
    When I bought the bass, The Salesman there went with the bass and did a Setup on it. And no, I don't press too hard on my Frets and I don't really play so hard xD.

What should I do? These buzz sounds are quite annoying..
    Thanks a lot for the help :).

2. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    Massachusetts
    It can either be:

1) It needs to be setup again

2) Your left hand technique: Make sure you fret right behind the fret and press down hard enough

3) Right hand technique: If you pluck too hard it will buzz no matter what. Also make sure you're playing the strings parallel to the body and not pluck down and above the strings (if that makes sense)

3. metlman72

metlman72

Jun 29, 2011
    Long Island NY
    Your bass teacher is 100% correct. This is a simple action adjustment that should have been done at the store during the initial setup. If you literally just bought it I would go back to the store and tell them. They should do it free of charge. Worst case you shell out the cash for a set up.

I would think if it were a technique issue your teacher would have pointed that out, so it must be the bass itself.

4. Bobster

Bobster

Mar 27, 2006
    Austin, TX