Cab choice help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by H2ODog, Feb 1, 2009.

1. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    Ok, so i'm a newbie at heads and amps. I just bought a Genz Benz Shuttle 6 (has not arrived yet) and need to find a cab for it. Here is my situation. I play with a group two guitars and a drummer. What cab would be suited for rock/funk/blues type of music?

We have some large house parties that we will be doing staring this spring so what would be suitable size also.

2. uaudio

uaudio

Apr 11, 2008
    Arizona
    The bassist for one of my favorite local bar/large party bands plays a Shuttle 6 with Avatar 210/115. Great tone.

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    A single 4 ohm 2x12 would also kill.

4. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA

Yea, that is what i'm leaning towards, what brand? anything that stands out?

Thx.

5. KsPiNeSh

KsPiNeSh

Mar 28, 2008
    Kansas City
    I play the Genz Benz NEOX-212T cabs for a nice modern tone, but Genz also has the Uber-212 cabs that just came out which are supposed to have more of a "old-school" tone to them. Avatar, Bergantino, Schroeder, Aguilar... all different flavors of good. It sounds to me like you want something with a slightly bigger bottom, so perhaps the Uber-212 or Bergantino would be right up your alley.

6. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    True, i would like something that can hit the lows i'll look into those, thx.

7. If you have the cash and you want an excellent cab that can give that clear yet warm tone and give you those lows I've found that the Mesa 2x12 is pretty killer albeit pricy.

8. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Epifani. Those two brands sound superb together. An epi 212 would be a great amp with the 6.0

Edit: Just a note... the shuttle like a cab that has a full bass tone, so the schroeders are not a great match IME.

9. KsPiNeSh