Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

cabs - frequency response

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by easy, Mar 29, 2005.

1. easy

easy

Mar 16, 2005
    seattle
    I'm a bit of a newb, so forgive me if this is common knowledge. Also, if it's been beaten to death already on this forum, sorry. I did searches but still have questions.

Are there cabs that respond to specific frequency ranges? It seems to me that the best thing to do for a set up is to have the low, and only the low, frequencies going to the bigger speakers, and having the higher frequencies going to smaller speakers, etc. Is that possible? Is it better?

Also, another newbie question:

Rack-mountable. What's the point of the rack? I just bought my SWR 350x and it's rack-mountable, but... I am obviously missing something.

please shed some light

2. It's called biamping. Is it better? For producing clear, clean sound at high decibel levels it's hard to beat.

3. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    Are there cabs that respond to specific frequency ranges?

Yes.

It seems to me that the best thing to do for a set up is to have the low, and only the low, frequencies going to the bigger speakers, and having the higher frequencies going to smaller speakers, etc. Is that possible?

Yes

Is it better?

Most people think so, although a lot of people don't really like the sound quality of a horn and either turn it off or turn it down.

Most cabs these days have at the very least a horn to improve the high frequency response. Some Cabs are three way with low mid and high frequency drivers.

Also, another newbie question:

Rack-mountable. What's the point of the rack?