Callouses on Right Hand

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Ethan Marsh, Jul 16, 2021.

1. Ethan Marsh

Ethan Marsh

Jul 16, 2021
    Hi,
    Clearly there are handfuls of forums like this, but I'm putting it out there anyway.

I've been playing upright consistently for about 5 years now. In the past couple years I began to gig consistently up to 5 nights a week. I have always had an issue with developing callouses. It seems that no matter how much I play, or how much I let my fingers heal, when I have back to back gigs, I struggle to get through the week. My fingers will blister again and again in the same spots, sometimes over blisters that haven't even fully healed yet. I typically try to lance and drain them in an attempt to heal the skin, but it most often ends up coming off, which puts me back at square one with raw skin.
    Playing with the constant worry of intense pain upon every note is no fun, despite the unquantifiable amount I love music (playing jazz mostly by the way.) In recent months I've been incredibly busy playing, and its been really getting to me as I can't be fully present in the music when I am stressing about blistering.
    I've asked my professor at the conservatory, asked just about every bassist in town (nobody seems to experience it like I am) and even a physician and nobody can give me an answer that leads me to healing. I tend to have dry skin, so I have been recently using products like Vaseline and Working Hands to keep my skin moisturized after I am done playing.
    So I'm pretty much here out of desperation.. surely I should have those rock hard callouses by now, right?

JRA likes this.
  2. You might want to look into taping your fingers before any blisters or consider wearing a cloth glove. Stressing over blisters violates your muse. Don't stop trying to fight them!

JRA likes this.
  3. Ethan Marsh

Ethan Marsh

Jul 16, 2021