1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can you adjust strings by cutting them?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Sigge, Jun 24, 2014.

1. Sigge

Sigge

Jun 8, 2014
    Norway
    I made a post last week about if I could go wrong with length and sound and today I was going to buy some of the strings that were suggested but I realised I have unused strings for my other bass which I barely use, but they're a bit longer. Would it be okay to just cut them somehow and use them on my Höfner Icon 500/1?

I'm a student so I would love to not having to spend 80 dollars on specialized strings from the other side of the globe

2. jmverdugo

jmverdugo

Oct 11, 2012
    Katy TX
    As long as you cut from the tuner side you should be fine.

3. Sigge

Sigge

Jun 8, 2014
    Norway
    I thought maybe the strings were too thick if I did that?

4. Ewo

Ewo a/k/a Steve Cooper Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2008
    Huntington WV
    Well, uncoil the new strings and lay them out on the neck with the ball end positioned. You'll be able to see if the taper begins before the barrel of the tuner.

That's what you were concerned about, right?

5. jmverdugo

jmverdugo

Oct 11, 2012
    Katy TX
    To thick for what? The string should have the same thickness in all its length, it won't make any difference where you cut it.

6. Sigge

Sigge

Jun 8, 2014
    Norway
    No I'm worried that the tuning side end may be too thick to get into the holes that you use for tuning

7. Sigge

Sigge

Jun 8, 2014
    Norway
    The strings are definitely thinner on the tuner side, actually half its size

8. jmverdugo

jmverdugo

Oct 11, 2012
    Katy TX
    Ohhh I see, it shouldn't be a problem, it doesn't matter. You don't have to put it in that whole.

9. Sigge

Sigge

Jun 8, 2014
    Norway
    Really? What else is there to do?

sissy kathy likes this.
  10. Hopkins