1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Choice of amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dead silence, Jul 14, 2014.

1. dead silence

dead silence

Aug 7, 2010
    I fill the low end for an otherwise semi pro level Praise Band at church. I would say I play bass but I don't think I'm there yet. I've played acoustic bass for years but I'm still learning the electric. During services, my bass is run through the PA system but we play some outside concerts. I had a Peavey TKO 115 that believe it or not, filled Thunder Valley at Bristol. My son needed it for his church band so I'm shopping again.

My local music shop has a Peavey TNT 115 BW that's loaded with features, chorus, black widow etc on consignment for $425. They also have a new Peavey 700 Tour for $499 and a new Peavey 410 Cabinet for $599.

My question is since the TKO filled the bill at 150 watts I feel the TNT probably would too at 160 watts. However, do you think I would be impressed by the 700 & 410 combo enough to justify the $700 difference?

To quote a thread from this forum. If you're on a budget, buy the most used Peavey you can get for the money you have because it's pretty good stuff, doesn't hold it's value very well a becomes a decent deal.

Comments please

2. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Have you tried other rigs?

3. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, ChopShopAmps