Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Chorus and compression

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by muthagoose, Sep 9, 2004.

1. muthagoose

muthagoose

Jan 18, 2004
    Sweden
    Hi, I'm fairly new to this whole effects ordeal, but I've recently become interested in buying a compression and chorus pedal. But I have a few questions regarding them.
    (I'm sorry if these questions have been answered in other posts, but I don't have enough time to browse the forums in search of answers :oops: )

Anyways...

1. What exactly is possible with a compression pedal? From what I've read it is mostly used to even out your sound, a cutting highs and raising lows kind of thing. I've also read that you can vary your tone a great deal with a compression pedal, giving you a punchier tone, which is mainly what I am interested in. What's the deal-i-o?

2. Is it possible to damage any sort of pedal in any way? Like using the pedal together with another type instrument or a microphone?

3. If I want a chorus pedal and a compression pedal which will let me tweak my sound as much as possible, what should I look into? Any special brands that are recommended or that one should stay clear of?

Thanks in advance!

2. hyperlitem

hyperlitem Guest

Jul 25, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    Im not a big pedal fan but ive used a few in my time but my knowledge is defintately not extensive so if someone wants to help me out thatd be great. Im not into recording effects as thats more what i do so i hope most of this stuff crosses over.