Chris Hannulik

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Dr Rod, Dec 20, 2005.

1. Dr Rod

Dr Rod

Aug 19, 2005
    Has anybody worked with Chris Hannulik? (spelling ??)

I was interested in his left hand technique philosophy. I heard that he even vibrates Mozart exerpts. It is not possible to hear vibratto when you are playing that fast so I am wondering if there is a reason for this.

Any other comments about him are welcome.
  2. I studied with him for four weeks at Aspen a couple years ago. He is an insanely good player. He gets one of the biggest, fattest sounds I've ever heard out of his bass.

I don't recall him ever talking to me about his vibrato technique. He generally spends most of his time talking about whatever specific piece you're working on. He seemed very musically-minded and not as concerned with technique.
  3. JayR

Nov 9, 2005
    Los Angeles, CA