1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

College help! PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by ao'connor17, Apr 5, 2009.

1. ao'connor17

ao'connor17

Feb 12, 2007
    Tivoli, NY
    I know I don't post much, but I lurk the forums.
    Regardless, I'm now a sophomore in high school and just recently, I realized that I need to take my playing alot more seriously than I am if I want to play bass for a living. Which got me to start thinking about colleges, and where I want to go/what I need to do to prep for it. I know there are some professors here, but I'm sure they'll understand that I should do whats best for me...
    What I think I want to do is perform in some way. I'd like to continue playing electric and upright bass. In an ideal situation, I'd like to have a symphony gig and a jazz gig, and possibly teaching on the side. I'd like to go to school in a big city (Chicago, New York, etc) but I also enjoy Colorado. The schools I have in mind are all "elitist" programs, such as Juliard, Eastman, Curtis, etc. I guess what I need the most help with is finding a school with a reputable name, that's a little easier to get into, and is in an area that I would like to live.

Thanks

Andrew

2. What does your teacher recommend? Please don't say you don't have one if you are seriously thinking about majoring in music.
    This is not a snobby, elitist remark, it's the truth.
    Having said that, there have been numerous lengthy discussions on this topic. Just do a search on College, and you will be surprised.

3. Eric Swanson

Eric Swanson

Oct 8, 2007
    Boston, MA
    First, perhaps fill out your profile, maybe?

Second, you might do well to get a teacher and start hitting it hard, now, if you aren't doing so already (I mean a pro orchestra player, probably).