1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

College student looks to see the light again

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by CaptRook, Apr 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CaptRook

CaptRook

Apr 1, 2009
    I'm a college student who played AUB in high school, but gave it up about three years ago to pursue theatre exclusively. Now that I've got a little more perspective, I'm wanting to get back to the bass and really go for it.

My biggest issue, however, is space. Living in a dorm room is not conducive to housing, playing, caring for, and not kicking an acoustic. So I've been looking at EUB because they're smaller and well, if I hook up some headphones to them, I can practice without annoying the neighbors.

Obviously, I'm not going to get the same sound from an EUB as I did playing an AUB in highschool, but what I'm really looking for is something to be able to store in a small place, not too high on initial maintenance, less than $1500 for total start up costs (I need a bow and everything else to make the bass work)

Most recently, I've been looking at the NS WAV 4 because of price and that most of the people in that forum seem to enjoy playing it. That said, I know little to nothing about the extra electronics such as preamps and headphones and speakers that I'll need in order to make such an endeavor work. I have an okay Fender speaker from when I thought I was going to try and learn electric bass (still have the bass too), but I have no idea if that's going to be the right type of thing in order to get a decent sound.