1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Cramps in my right hand.

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Ben Mitchell, May 18, 2011.

1. I really feel it in between my thumb and my pointer finger. I've considered that my bow grip is wrong (I play french), or maybe I'm gripping the bow too hard..

Ideas and suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
    Ben

2. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    Not that I'm an expert on bowing, but I usually find that when I get pain like that it's because the object I'm trying to grip is too small.

3. That could be it, I do have quite large hands.

4. There should be no grip at all. It's a bow hold. Any amount of squeezing or flexing that lasts more than a few seconds is going to be fatiguing and can possibly lead to injury. Use the weight of your arm and gravity to your advantage. Find a more relaxed way to play.

5. You probably have a handle on it... gripping too hard will do that. If it's that the bow is too small for you to comfortably grip (or your thumbs are too short), well, you can put a soft grip on it. Or, if all that fails, try German bow... which is my solution, so I can't really advise on technique fixes with French bow.

6. chris1125

chris1125

May 14, 2007
    on my second bow that I ever owned, I had this problem that every time I sent it out for a rehair or something, it was painful to play the bow when it came back, I had to reajust or something to the bow and it took a couple weeks. I never found out why that happened. I would just give it a few days and if it keeps happening try a different bow for a few days and see if that fixes your problem.

7. I'm reprinting this from an earlier post of mine on the topic in the hope that it will help.

Cheers....

DP