1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

DEAD Tuning

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by XtheDeadPawn, Jun 8, 2012.

1. XtheDeadPawn

XtheDeadPawn

May 24, 2008
    Texas
    Can one do DEAD tuning and if so what guage of strings/nut would suffice?

Can I tune my 5 string 50-128 string set like that on my ATK305?

Preferably can it be done DEADG.

2. Nicolay3535

Nicolay3535

Sep 16, 2010
    South Florida
    Never heard or tried this tuning, but I just can't imagine what it would be like to have my two bottom strings only one step away from identical. I bet it can creat some cool options if you play allot of chords.

3. XtheDeadPawn

XtheDeadPawn

May 24, 2008
    Texas
    That thought is what made me think of it.

Only instead of a full chord I ccould just use one note at a time til the chord is made up.
    I'm a punk bassist who is self taught so as far as music theory goes it's total Mandirin to me. But, I know there's a name for what I just said.

Anyways I'll ask in greater depth this time.

I have a ATK305 5 string bass
    Can I use 50 - 129 strings to tune it this way?

B -> D
    E -> E
    A -> A
    D -> D

The G string I don't use that much so that usually stays tuned to G and is only used when a string breaks which really hasn't happened to me in a live setting yet. *Knocks on wood*

Really I need some help here. I think this will work but, fear of tearing my trussrod to smitherins. I know ATK's are sturdy and can take a licking but, is this gonna hurt me bad in the long run? ATK305's aren't really as avaliable as they uset to be and I don't have the money to get a new bass.

4. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    It's not going to hurt your truss rod, but why would you use that tuning on a 5er when you hit a low D no problem and still have 3 lower note as well in regular tuning?