1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Decent 4 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by driess20, Oct 2, 2008.

1. driess20

driess20

Aug 10, 2008
    Dear fellow bass players,

I have been playing bass for some years now but always on a 5 string (Yamaha BB605), as i used to play death metal, grind and the occasional jazz jam bands it felt very appropriate. But over the past summer i started playing with a pop group and started to record and play live shows. I'm interested in picking up a nice 4 string in the $600-750 range and was looking at some Fenders. I want your professional opinion on the matter as i know some of the members here have had much more experience than i do.

After playing some my tastes lingered towards the 51' P bass. I love that tele neck! My only gripe with Fenders is that they don't typically have 24 frets and i am a big fan of a full upper octave. I did see a 24 fret jazz somewhere on the interweb but i really enjoy playing basses before i'm sold on them.

Suggestions?

p.s. if you want to hear my old death metal band look up Xanthos, http://www.myspace.com/xanthosmetal . If you'd like to hear my new pop band check out Cotton Candy Collective, www.myspace.com/cottoncandycollective .

2. LDonnie

LDonnie

Aug 3, 2008
    Netherlands
    *Sigh*, why do people always immediately jump to Fenders? :rolleyes: For that kind of money you can also get (in the 24 fret range):

-A nice Soundgear,
    -a pretty Cort,
    -MAYBE a Music Man Bongo second hand,
    -perhaps some kind of MTD (new or second hand)?,
    -or, if you are up for a laugh, some kind of Dean or BC Rich :D (would be usable for your metal band too)

Choices abound.

3. Navybass

Navybass

Mar 12, 2005
    Norfolk, Va.

Why do people always immediately put down Fenders. :rolleyes:

Maybe the OP likes the look and sound of Fenders. Maybe he doesn't like Ibanez or Cort.